The Shoe

Day 290

day-290-the-shoe-la_fotor_fotor

     One of the parades we attended in New Orleans was the Krewe of Muses. Organized in 2000, the Krewe of Muses is named after the legendary daughters of Zeus. In Greek mythology, muses were patrons of the arts and sciences, as well as sources of inspiration for artists, poets, philosophers, and musicians.

     The Krewe of Muses was the first to consist entirely of women. One of their prize throws is a shoe. Each shoe is hand decorated by the Krewe member, and only one is made, not a pair.  Each shoe is unique, and their number is limited. Because of this, they are highly prized among Mardi Gras goers. Unlike the other “throws”, the shoe is handed to a selected parade spectator. Barbara was fortunate enough to be handed the above shoe. 

9 thoughts on “The Shoe

  1. That is incredible that Barbara was handed the shoe! I’m sure there are folks that attend every year and will never come close to being offered a shoe… Great job!

  2. 👠Wow that shoe is gorgeous! 👠
    If there’s no room in the RV for it I’ll be glad to take it off your hands!👠

  3. Steven

    Every time I comment it gives me two choices: notify me of new comments via email; notify me of new posts by email. I check notify me of new comments via email. The only thing I get in reply is an email that states: “[subscribe] Comments on (name of latest blog) on The 5th Wheel! Hi, From Steven. You recently signed up. . . Confirm Follow.” But I never get an email advising there are new comments.

    Even when I go into scheinin.wordpress.com I get the blogs.

    Please remind me again how I can see the comments from the most current to previous ones.

    Happy travels.

    Tami

    1. I am not sure. (Who is in charge, me or the computer?) As I type this comment, I have one choice that says “Notify me of new comments via email”. I checked this early on, but not since. When you type a comment I will get an e-mail that says “Tami Levitas commented on The Shoe.” I am not sure if it is because I host the site, or because way back when I checked the box.

    2. Hi Tammy,

      This is a response to the e-mail notification I got when you posted a comment on my blog. I will also send you a new e-mail direct.

      I am not sure. (Who is in charge, me or the computer?) As I type this comment, I have one choice that says “Notify me of new comments via email”. I checked this early on, but not since. When you type a comment I will get an e-mail that says “Tami Levitas commented on The Shoe.” I am not sure if it is because I host the site, or because way back when I checked the box.

      Steven The Nomad http://www.scheinin.wordpress.com

      >

    1. Ok, I went to my trash bin on the blog and restored your post. What make you think I really know what I am doing on this blog. I do know that I will soon run out of space, probably because of all the pictures I post, on this free blog. I assume I will have to upgrade to the paid wordpress.

Feel Free to Leave a Comment. Check the box so you will know when I respond

